Mittens for Kittens

I thought I better write about knitting today.  Today’s post is about the rage for fingerless mittens, aka mitts. 

Who doesn’t like warm hands in the cold weather?  I mean getting into the cold car and touching the cold steering wheel? Brrr.  [I do have a heated steering wheel, but it takes a minute to warm up.  Can you say “princess”?] besides, fingerless mitts are a fashion statement, and who doesn’t like to be fashionable?

I recently knitted many styles of fingerless mittens for various kittens [metaphor for women-sorry, had to write this-it rhymes].  It was one of those spontaneous knitting binges that begins due to a quirky reason.  Here’s my reason: a friend at work gave me 2 skeins of Blue Sky Alpaca Worsted hand painted merino in a beautiful cherry red.  I thought of my Mom and her cherry red Town and Country minivan.  Mom needs to keep her hands warm, but her fingers free.  Tadda! Fingerless mitts

My sister saw the pattern and wanted a pair.  I knit her a pair using Berroco Weekend in a dark purple in my stash.  Next pair of mitts knit.  Since I started using this Berroco Weekend that was intended for a shrug, I knit another pair of mitts using a different pattern

My sister did not like these mitts as much as the design I made for Mom.  Hence, fingerless mitts X3.  Since I was on a fingerless mitt knitting binge, I knit a 4th pair on an easy pattern that is not available on Ravelry.  It was a free pattern from Shelley’s Yarn Shoppe in Taylors Falls.  FYI, the shop also sells sheep on their website.

 

Four pairs of mittens for four kittens.  One

pair to Mom.  One pair to my sister.  One pair to a best friend [ who always appreciates my talents].  And one pair to co-worker for her birthday.

My next knitting binge will be dead fish hats.  Three dead fish hats.   I’ll post pictures of the progress.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

